I bake too

Not only do I, consult with new home buyers making sure they understand builders policies, procedures and guidelines, but I bake too. Yes, I actually bake and I sometimes even sell my goodies.  The only thing that I have found is, when I bake for pleasure, like for family gatherings, or if I am in the mood for something sweet, I really enjoy it. When I am being paid to bake, I become a little stressed because you don’t really have “do overs”. Your stuff has to be right the first time or it will cost you. The good part is, when I get the call that everyone loved my baking. That always makes it worth while.

I did decide though that I would not offer my services to bake wedding cakes for strangers ( I might consider doing it for friends only). I baked the wedding cake for my son’s wedding and I was a nervous wreck. I wanted the cake to be perfect (brides get very upset if the cake is not just right). I was lucky, my daughter inlaw was very laid back and trusted me, but none the less, I was a wreck.  I did howewver, bake the cupcakes for my daughter inlaws shower, and I totally enjoyed doing it. I have uploaded the photos of the wedding cake and the cupcakes.

My baking business is really just a sideline thing. I usually get calls from friends,  friends of friends, or my kids friends, so it doesn’t take up too much of my time. I am a self taught baker, and sometimes I think that is the best way to learn. I started baking at an early age and continued to love it as I grew up. Sometimes when you love something, you become really good at it. I think that is what happened to me. So, here are just two samples of my baking. The wedding cake photo isn’t very clear, but you get the idea of how it looked.

 

 

About dfconsultants

I have worked in the new home construction industry for 15 years as a Customer Care Manager. I identified a need in customer service which was not being addressed so I decided to start my own company and founded DF Consultants. We educate new home buyers in the After Sales Service process and procedures. Builders have also recognized the advantage of having DF Consultants on their team, so we work with them doing Quality Assurance Inspections (Pre-PDI's), right through to conducting professional PDI's with their purchasers. Our mission is to change the dynamics in the new home construction industry, to improve communcation between builders and their homeowners creating a strong and lasting relationship.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

