Tonight is Chanukah!

Tonight is the first night of Chanukah, so I guess that means that I have to run home after work, start grating potatoes and onions so that I can make potato latkes.  Well what would Chanukah be without those delicious potato pancakes?  We all end up smelling like fried oil, and the house continues to smell for days, but nothing beats crispy latkes with apple sauce or sour cream, so the stench is worth it.

Then we light the Chanukah candles.  I can never remember the prayer that is supposed to be said for the lighting of the candles, so I say words that mean something to me.  I pray for peace on earth and I pray for health and happiness for my family and friends.  I think those are the most important things, although I know that when my kids were young they wanted me to pray for all of the latest electronics, a house with a pool, a cool car and enough money so that they would never have to work.  Now that they are adults, I can’t say that those things still are not important to them but now they include peace on earth and health and happiness for family and friends.

I do love this time of year.  It’s a time for family, friends, tons of food and parties.  I love the fact that the family gets together, and I especially love the fact that everybody actually enjoys getting together.  We really are a close knit family, and everybody thinks alike.  They all are expecting me to cook, bake and most importantly fry up those potato latkes. So, I guess I better stop at the grocery store on my way home from work to pick up a bag of potatos, and warn my colleagues and friends that I may stink of oil tomorrow.

Happy Chanukah!

About dfconsultants

I have worked in the new home construction industry for 15 years as a Customer Care Manager. I identified a need in customer service which was not being addressed so I decided to start my own company and founded DF Consultants. We educate new home buyers in the After Sales Service process and procedures. Builders have also recognized the advantage of having DF Consultants on their team, so we work with them doing Quality Assurance Inspections (Pre-PDI's), right through to conducting professional PDI's with their purchasers. Our mission is to change the dynamics in the new home construction industry, to improve communcation between builders and their homeowners creating a strong and lasting relationship.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tonight is Chanukah!

  1. Pingback: 6th Day of the Chanukah Miracle! | Inspired Vision

Leave a Reply

