It’s Easier To Be Pleasant Than To Be Miserable.

Have you ever noticed how much more energy it takes to be miserable than it does to be pleasant.  Being miserable takes strength and muscle control.  You have to constantly think about being miserable so it can also be very tiring.

I ask this question because throughout my career, I have met people who truly feel that they can achieve what they want just by being ornery and demanding.  I never could understand that, because one very important thing that I learned was, you get so much more accomplished and you receive so much more respect when you exude happiness and kindness.  It just makes sense. I am not saying that you need to become a “Pollyanna” – if you saw that Disney movie, you know what I am talking about – but trying to be nice to people does get you so much further.

When I worked for builders, I found most of our homeowners were easy to deal with, and quite pleasant.  But then there were those few people who made a career out of being totally impossible.  Those were the ones who refused to work cooperatively with us, and then they became angry because they didn’t understand why things were not getting done. There were even some who I NEVER, EVER  saw smile.  They walked around with a scowl most of the time, my face hurt just looking at them.  It takes more muscles in the face to frown than it does to smile.  So I guess if you want to exercise your facial muscles frowning can serve at least one purpose.

Now I am not saying that there are never situations where people feel miserable for one reason or another, we can’t feel happy and perky every day, but we can’t allow that those negative feelings to rule our lives.  We are so much healthier when we are feeling positive, our blood pressure is better, our muscles are not tense, and we even look so much better. It’s true.

One of the first things that I always tell my clients is,  and I have said it time and time again in my blogs, work cooperatively with your builders, (I consult with people who have purchased new homes from builders), and be as respectful as you can. This truly helps to keep the stress levels down, and you are less likely to become angry and miserable, which in turn, gets things done in a timely and peaceful manner.

Working cooperatively and being respectful is something that we need to do in our every day lives no matter who we are dealing with. Whether it is in business, or personal we will get so much further being pleasant then being miserable. I know that this happiness stuff can sound pretty sappy, but it is proven that a positive outlook plays a very big part in our well being.  So call me sappy, but I love the concept, it makes me happy.

About dfconsultants

I have worked in the new home construction industry for 15 years as a Customer Care Manager. I identified a need in customer service which was not being addressed so I decided to start my own company and founded DF Consultants. We educate new home buyers in the After Sales Service process and procedures. Builders have also recognized the advantage of having DF Consultants on their team, so we work with them doing Quality Assurance Inspections (Pre-PDI's), right through to conducting professional PDI's with their purchasers. Our mission is to change the dynamics in the new home construction industry, to improve communcation between builders and their homeowners creating a strong and lasting relationship.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s Easier To Be Pleasant Than To Be Miserable.

  1. So much of being pleasant or being miserable comes down to our own disposition and take on life. I couldn’t agree more–I genuinely enjoy being happy and even when I’m having a bad day I can’t wait to get happy again. But there are some people who seem to enjoy being miserable and complaining about everything too.

  2. Jconowitch says:

    Well sappy I totally agree with you! LOL!

  3. Pingback: How to improve your mood « renplus

Leave a Reply

