My Kids Find Me So Entertaining!


What does it mean when our kids find humour in the things that we do, especially when we are not, in any way, trying to be funny?  My kids think it is hysterically funny when my youngest son imitates everything that I say and do.  For example, my son and I went for a walk with our little dog one day.  During our walk we came to a small park and he decided that it was safe to let go of the leash even though I told him not to.  No sooner had he dropped the lease when a bunny came hopping by and off our dog went to chase it.  I of course was yelling for the dog to come back, I had visions of him running where we wouldn’t be able to find him, or worse, running into the street and getting hit by a car, so I kept yelling “Harley”.  Well of course Harley did come back, and now my son had a story to tell, or better yet, to embellish upon.

By the time he told the story to his siblings, it was blown way out of proportion for the sole purpose of entertainment at my expense.  He told his brothers and sister, that I was screaming in a high pitched voice HARLAAAAAAAAY!!! (Harley is spelled with an “ey” but the way my son told the story, he made it sound like an “ay”for better effect). He said that everybody was looking at us –  the parkette was empty – and that I caused a scene.  To hear him tell the story you would think that I was running all over the park screaming like the Wicked Witch of the West. Everyone thought the story was hilarious, especially because of his over the top delivery. Of course my kids believed every word and could not stop laughing.  They said that they could picture me running around like a crazy lady screaming.  First of all, I was not running, and second of all, I was worried about my dog, so yes I was calling out his name….loudly.  I didn’t want to lose him!

No matter what I do, my kids turn it into a comedy skit.  I don’t think it is unusual to be a little concerned if I wake up at 2:00am and one of my kids are not home yet.  I am positive that I am not the only mother who would call their kid’s cell phone to make sure that they weren’t dead.  My kids think I over react.  As soon as they answer the phone, I yell “where are you”?  Then I tell them to get the hell home, and then I hang up on them, not even waiting for an answer.  Am I over reacting? I think not.

It is so heart warming to know that I am such a source of entertainment for my children.  They obviously enjoy hanging around me because I give them new material for their stories.  I guess you could say that without me, their lives would be dull and uneventful.  How nice that I can provide them with so much laughter and entertainment.  It’s nice to know that my kids get such a kick out of me.

About dfconsultants

I have worked in the new home construction industry for 15 years as a Customer Care Manager. I identified a need in customer service which was not being addressed so I decided to start my own company and founded DF Consultants. We educate new home buyers in the After Sales Service process and procedures. Builders have also recognized the advantage of having DF Consultants on their team, so we work with them doing Quality Assurance Inspections (Pre-PDI's), right through to conducting professional PDI's with their purchasers. Our mission is to change the dynamics in the new home construction industry, to improve communcation between builders and their homeowners creating a strong and lasting relationship.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Kids Find Me So Entertaining!

  1. Jesse Carson says:

    You are an awesome mom

Leave a Reply

