The Family Reunion

I was always brought up to believe that nothing is closer than family.  My mother always told my sister, brother and I that we would be best friends when we grew up, and I told the same thing to my kids when they were little.

I could never understand family members who didn’t speak to each other.  I always felt it was so wrong.  I always felt so special because this sort of thing would never happen in my family, until it did.  My sister and I lost contact with our brother.  We didn’t want it to happen, but I realize now that we probably played a part in the separation. We were always so close, so who would have ever thought that such a thing could happen to us.

My brother changed his path.  He found something that brought a sense of peace, true meaning and happiness into his life.  My sister, mother and I were against it.  We felt he was becoming fanatical and that, as far as we were concerned, couldn’t be good.  The end result, my brother moved away with his wife and young children, and we didn’t see him and barely spoke to each other for over 15 years.  It was heartbreaking to say the least.

This past year we finally started to reconnect, and surprisingly, my brother announced that he and his family were coming home for a visit.  Last night he walked back into our lives with his wife and kids who are now young adults.  My sister and I were feeling anxious.  Would the meeting be uncomfortable?  What would we say to each other.  I kept thinking, how can I be so nervous at the prospect of seeing my own brother?  Then the moment of truth.  Everything was wonderful!

We all hugged, kissed, laughed, talked, we all had a wonderful time.  All of the kids, my sister’s, my brother’s and mine were all so much alike.  All with wonderful senses of humour, all beautiful, smart and loving.  It’s almost as if the last 15 years didn’t even exist.  Then my daughter said to me, how sad it was to have missed all those years together.  Never having the opportunity for the cousin’s to know each other, missing out on birthday’s, graduations, and just hanging out.  There was a lesson to be learned from this, to be more tolerant, never to pass judgement, and of course acceptance.

I am looking forward to a new beginning.  This is a new day.

About dfconsultants

I have worked in the new home construction industry for 15 years as a Customer Care Manager. I identified a need in customer service which was not being addressed so I decided to start my own company and founded DF Consultants. We educate new home buyers in the After Sales Service process and procedures. Builders have also recognized the advantage of having DF Consultants on their team, so we work with them doing Quality Assurance Inspections (Pre-PDI's), right through to conducting professional PDI's with their purchasers. Our mission is to change the dynamics in the new home construction industry, to improve communcation between builders and their homeowners creating a strong and lasting relationship.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Family Reunion

  1. Jconowitch says:

    Excellent post and so glad to hear your family is mending!

Leave a Reply

