Rogers Cable Thinks We Are Fools!

 

I am really angry! We pay a small fortune for cable television, especially if we want the movie channels because they come as part of a package.  I do have those channels because I love watching HGTV, the Food Network and some of the channels that show old movies.

Last night my sister called me and told me to turn on the Food Network and press the “info” button on my remote. I did what she asked and I couldn’t believe what I was reading.  Rogers Cable has decided that we will no longer be receiving this channel!  WHAT?  Well of course I immediately called Rogers to confirm that there must be some mistake, and you will not believe what I was told.  Get ready.  The person on the phone, after speaking with a few colleagues, told me that Rogers just realized that our area and the surrounding areas were never supposed to be receiving the Food Network, and that they just realized this mistake.  Do they really think that we are fools?  My area and all of the surrounding areas have been receiving the Food Network since it began.  Now after over 10 years, Rogers realized that we were not supposed to be getting it?  Come on!

Of course my next question was, are they going to lower the cost of my cable due to the fact that we are losing that station?  The answer, NO!  They are using the excuse that we have been receiving the Food Network for free.  For FREE?  I pay close to $200.00 per month just to have that station, and the other stations that, I must admit, I rarely watch.  I also should mention that I have my land line, cell phone and internet on this plan as well, so Rogers basically has total control of all of my communication.

Well I am tired of paying so much money for a service that I have no control over.  This Food Network thing is just another way that Rogers is trying to make more money, as if they don’t make enough already.  How dare they take away a channel and then tell us that if we want it, we now have to pay extra for it.  Why should they be allowed to get away with this? I guess when you are a huge corporation you can.

It’s my fault.  I was lured into thinking that I was getting the best deal ever.  I let Rogers take over my phones, internet, and television.  I pay them for services that I really have no say in, unless of course I want to continue paying more money.  To top it off, I lose internet connection at least 3 times a day, and continually have to unplug my router and then plug it back in. I never get reimbursed for losing internet connection, or if the cable goes down for a while, or when I lose cell phone connections. It’s all about the money.  Believe me, I am not against making money, but when a huge company with way too much control, trys to cheat us, then I must draw the line.  I am waiting to find out what other stations we have been receiving for “free” that they will be taking away from us.

Well the time has come to look for alternatives for my cable, phones and internet.  I have to take a stand.  Rogers has gone too far, especially when they have the gall to say that they didn’t realize we were getting the Food Network for free.  Good try Rogers!  You can say good-bye to this customer.

Whew! I really needed to vent.

 

 

About dfconsultants

I have worked in the new home construction industry for 15 years as a Customer Care Manager. I identified a need in customer service which was not being addressed so I decided to start my own company and founded DF Consultants. We educate new home buyers in the After Sales Service process and procedures. Builders have also recognized the advantage of having DF Consultants on their team, so we work with them doing Quality Assurance Inspections (Pre-PDI's), right through to conducting professional PDI's with their purchasers. Our mission is to change the dynamics in the new home construction industry, to improve communcation between builders and their homeowners creating a strong and lasting relationship.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rogers Cable Thinks We Are Fools!

  1. I hate Rogers, I’m totally with you! They rip people off constantly. They overcharge for everything and if you call and complain they lower your rates, it’s like why aren’t I paying this lower rate already? Why do I have to fight for it? I’ve made a habit of calling them once a month to complain and each time they discount it, by the time I’m done, I’ll be getting their service for free!

  2. rogerschris says:

    Hi Darlene,

    This is Chris at Rogers. It is indeed true that due to an error on Rogers’ part, we have recently discovered that certain customers were receiving Food Network Canada without subscribing to the appropriate package.

    That being said, many customers were seeing the message in their interactive programming guide in error, stating they would no longer be receiving the Food Network after April 17, 2012.

    I’m not sure which of our packages you subscribe to, or exactly where you live, but I can say for certain that none of our customers who subscribe to Rogers VIP packages will lose the Food Network Canada. If you’d like to tell me which package you subscribe to and what city/area you live in, I’ll be happy to tell you if you’re seeing this message in error or if you’ve been receiving the Food Network Canada in error. You can email me, or reach out on Twitter, or even just reply to this comment.

    Best,
    @Rogers_Chris

    • Hi Chris,
      Thank you for your response. I do have the VIP package, so I will not lose the Food Network, but that is not the point. The point is, the Food Network has been a standard for over 10 years, and all of a sudden Rogers realizes that they made a mistake and consequently many people will no longer be receiving it? I find that very hard to swallow. I cannot believe that it has taken Rogers this long to find such a blatant “error”. I still think that this is a money making scheme, and it’s shameful considering how expensive cable TV already is.

      I have done some research, and found that many of the other cable providers offer more networks, especially the newer ones like ABC Spark. Rogers gave us a sneak preview of ABC Spark for approximately 2 months, and yet, when the preview was over, so was Spark. What is that supposed to mean? Why allow previews of new networks if Rogers has no intention of providing them to their customers?

      Chris, I am not sure where you rank in the Rogers company, but I am sure you get receive all kinds of complaints regarding one thing or another. However; we are paying our hard earned money for the privilege of receiving cable. The least Rogers can do is stop taking away stations and then turning around and charging their customers extra for something that they have been receiving as part of their cable package for years. That is so not right.

      In my business, I am an advocate for people, and I hate to see anyone being taken advanatage of. I believe that Rogers is doing just that, taking advantage of their customers and unfortunately getting away with it.

      I do appreciate you taking the time to respond.

      Regards,
      Darlene Freeman

  3. rogerschris says:

    Hi Darlene,

    I appreciate your concern, but let me assure you that the Food Network error is just that – an error. The customers who have received it in error have packages that never listed the Food Network.

    As for ABC Spark, Rogers never offered any free preview of that channel. What you’re mistaking for our free preview would be other channels showcasing programming from ABC Spark in place of their regular programming. I believe that YTV showcased ABC Spark in place of their regular programming for some time. We have no say in what programming those channels air. As for the ABC Spark channel itself, we don’t offer it and don’t comment on products or services we haven’t announced.

    If you think anyone is being taken advantage of, you’re welcome to bring it to our attention.

    @Rogers_Chris

Leave a Reply

