Deficiency Repair Timelines Help Lower Anxiety Levels.

I had new clients referred to me.  My new clients wanted to know why they were not receiving the best possible service from their builder.  They wanted me to call them and force them to get the work done.  This is where the education starts.

After a thorough conversation, I found out that my clients had been calling their builder numerous times throughout the day, almost every day, regarding the same issues.  I had to wonder why the builder was not responding, and why my clients had to continually call.  After receiving permission from my clients, I called the builder myself and found out that the builder had sent out the work orders to their trades so that the deficiencies would be addressed.  I asked the builder if they had a timeline as to when the work might get completed, which they did.  I then asked them if they had conveyed this timeline to my clients, and they confirmed that they had not.  They explained, that my clients keep calling, yelling, and not allowing the builder to explain.  I told the builder to please keep my clients informed as best as they could, and I went on to explained that this is their first house in this country and that they are very nervous.  The builder said that they would do their best.

One of the most important things that I tell my clients is to have a conversation with their builders, not a fighting match.  Try not to yell, threaten, badger or hang up on them.  This will not accomplish anything except to get the builders back up along with your blood pressure.  Deficiencies can be very frustrating, and of course getting them fixed in a timely manner is very important to the homeowner.  What I explain is that there are circumstances that may hold up a repair, like back orders, trades being over booked, or it could be as simple as where you are in the loop for deficiency repair.  Whatever the case, ask the builder if they can give a timeline for repairs, this will help alleviate the stress of waiting.  Try to understand that the builder wants deficiencies completed just as much as you do, so working together can make the situation so much easier with much less anger.

Calling the builder over and over again does not get deficiencies completed any faster.  It just causes animosity between you and your builder, and frustration for you.  Remember, try to get timelines for deficiency repairs, have calm conversations with your builder, and try to work cooperatively.  Understanding the repair process will help bring you out of the dark, this will lower anxiety levels and ultimately help you to have less worry.  As the old say goes “Don’t worry, be happy”.  It’s so true.

About dfconsultants

I have worked in the new home construction industry for 15 years as a Customer Care Manager. I identified a need in customer service which was not being addressed so I decided to start my own company and founded DF Consultants. We educate new home buyers in the After Sales Service process and procedures. Builders have also recognized the advantage of having DF Consultants on their team, so we work with them doing Quality Assurance Inspections (Pre-PDI's), right through to conducting professional PDI's with their purchasers. Our mission is to change the dynamics in the new home construction industry, to improve communcation between builders and their homeowners creating a strong and lasting relationship.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

