In Praise of Employees

Last weekend my husband and I went to Stratford, Ontario.  On the way we stopped in Guelph at at McDonalds for a cup of coffee. I love McDonalds coffee.  Anyway, while we were there I noticed a man standing off to the side just watching the employees and the customers.  I found him a bit creepy.  As I kept my eye on him, he called a passing employee over, he was a teenage boy whose job was to clean the floors and tables.  The kid looked nervous because he had no clue who this guy was.  Being a mother, I kept a close watch on the situation just in case I needed to come to this kids’ defense.  The man stuck out his hand to the young man and introduced himself as the owner of the McDonalds franchise in Guelph. My thought? Yeah right, your the owner and you are just standing around here in McDonalds?  I of course did not say any of this out loud, I just kept watching.  The man then asked the employee how long he had been with McDonalds, and then told him to keep up the good work.  Harmless.  I didn’t need to jump into action.

As we continued to stand in line this man just stood there and watched.  When my turn came to order my coffee, we had a lovely server who had a beautiful smile.  All of a sudden, the man came up to the counter, stuck out his hand to our server.  He introduced himself as the owner of the franshise, told her he liked how she smiled when dealing with all of her customers, asked her how long she had been with the company, he then went on to say that he was proud to have her on board.  I was still very skeptical.

When my husband and I sat down to drink our coffee, I was looking around, and the man was gone.  I then noticed some pictures on the wall near where we were sitting so I went over to have a look.  In the photos there was that man accepting awards, and handing out awards.  There were articles about his wonderful contributions to the community, and it said that he was the owner of the franshise of all the McDonalds in Guelph.

I was almost ashamed of myself.  Here I was thinking all of these bad thoughts. I thought this guy was some kind of a nut hanging around McDonalds, probably because he had nothing better to do, and I was so wrong.  It’s very sad that it was hard for me to believe that a man in such a prestigious position would take the time on a Saturday to visit his restaurant and praise his employees for a job well done.  It was easier for me to believe that he was a preditor.

I noticed that other customers in McDonalds were just as skeptical about this guy as I was.  It’s sad that we are now a society where our first thoughts about someone is negative instead of positive.  I guess it’s because many employers don’t take the time to acknowledge their employees hard word.  It’s not a common occurance for employers to compliment their employees or to let them know that their work is valued.  This small, yet very important gesture is the difference between good morale and unhappy, stressed employees.

Take some time today to say something positive to your employees, you will see how appreciated your comments will be.  If you are not an employer, just take the time to say something nice to a fellow employee, those kinds words can go a long way.  It’s true, because the employees in that McDonalds were all smiling and looking very happy after speaking to their employer.

About dfconsultants

I have worked in the new home construction industry for 15 years as a Customer Care Manager. I identified a need in customer service which was not being addressed so I decided to start my own company and founded DF Consultants. We educate new home buyers in the After Sales Service process and procedures. Builders have also recognized the advantage of having DF Consultants on their team, so we work with them doing Quality Assurance Inspections (Pre-PDI's), right through to conducting professional PDI's with their purchasers. Our mission is to change the dynamics in the new home construction industry, to improve communcation between builders and their homeowners creating a strong and lasting relationship.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

